20220429_130315.jpg

Get to know Kelly Wooley

Owner and Founder of 314 Solutions

A few personal insights . . . 

Fort Worth local married to Fort Worth local

Mama bear to eight-year old, miracle daughter Avery

NICU and Special Needs advocate and resource 

Lover of tennis, arts and crafts, eating good food and drinking good wine with friends and family

Professional Career

Throughout my career, I’ve had the pleasure of working for international and national companies where I was able to learn from the best of the best.

 

Southwest Airlines. San Antonio Spurs. American Heart Association. Pier 1 Imports. Cook Children’s.

 

Admittedly an overachiever (but not the annoying kind, I promise!), I’ve had some great mentors who fulfilled my desire to learn skills that weren’t necessarily included in my job description.

Being employed at larger companies allowed me to watch how the marketing industry was literally changing on a daily basis. I knew the larger my skillset  was directly related to the value I brought to each company I worked for.

 

After more than 20 years of working for large companies and organizations, I came to the point in my career where I needed a change.

 

On the professional front, I grew tired of the "corporate" life and craved more flexibility, both in my work schedule and in my specific job descriptions.

 

On the personal front, I wanted more time with Avery. And luckily, my husband, Shawn, is a born entrepreneur who kept encouraging me to take the leap into business ownership. Without his support, I never would have had the stomach to walk away from the corporate world. 

 

As I was considering the possibility and weighing the pros and cons, I'd already been doing some freelance writing jobs pretty consistently, which was a big confidence booster. I continued to watch marketing webinars, read articles and talk to others in my field who had taken the leap and gone out on their own. Soon, it was apparent that the pros outweighed the cons and I was ready to take the next step. 

Making sure I was prepared, I created my business plan, knew the types of businesses I wanted to work with and in May of 2019, I left the corporate world and haven't looked back since then. 

​I’m grateful for the time I spent in the corporate world because it gave me the courage and skillset to fulfill a passion of mine – helping locally owned, growing businesses achieve their fullest potential while continue to sharpen my skills in the ever changing world of marketing. 

 

Personal life

 

A Fort Worth local 

My husband, Shawn, and I are both native Fort Worthians. I'm a Paschal High School graduate and he graduated from Arlington Heights High School. We actually met in preschool (true story!) but it took kissing many a frog before we starting dating. We've been married for almost 10 years and have an 8-year-old daughter, Avery, the inspiration behind 314 Solutions. 

I graduated with a Bachelors of Science in Business/Marketing from Trinity University in San Antonio. One of my first (and definitely most fun) jobs out of college was working for the San Antonio Spurs in their community relations department. I actually have my own 2003 championship ring and have the incredible memories of celebrating with all the players the night of their win.

 

While I never imagined being back in Fort Worth, I moved back in late 2003 and wouldn't consider living anywhere else. Both of my parents are just a 10 minute drive from us and are the most incredible parents and grandparents I could ever ask for.  I love the vibe and culture in Fort Worth and the friendly nature of everyone who lives here. While it's grown so much since I was little, it still has that "small town" feel where it seems like almost everyone is connected to each other in some way or another. 

 

A tennis family through and through 

​There's hardly a day that goes by where I'm not in near proximity to a tennis court. In fact, I basically grew up on one, with both of my parent being avid tennis players. Proving I was headstrong from day 1, my mom actually had a singles match scheduled for the day I was born (outdoors in August!) but labor got in the way of her being on the court that day. 

Shawn is the Head Tennis Pro at Ridglea Country Club and I play as often as I can. For me, it’s my only form of exercise (the gym, running, workout classes just aren't for me). Tennis is also a time to socialize with the many good friends I've made over the years plus engage my competitive side (I love to win!)  It’s also allowed us to give back to the NICU at Cook Children’s by hosting our Annual Summer Scorcher Charity Tennis Tournament each summer.

 

Recently, Avery has also gotten the tennis bug which is so much fun for both Shawn and I to watch her improve, channel her competitive nature and make some really great friends in the process.

My "adopted brother, David Roditi" played tennis for TCU and then went pro for many years where I was lucky enough to see him play at Wimbledon and the U.S. Open. He moved back to his second home (originally from Mexico) and has been the Head Men's Tennis Coach at TCU for the past 12 years. 

 

Celebrating life 

Besides tennis, I love food and trying new restaurants, wine (my dad is still proud that one of my first words was "cabernet sauvignon") , doing arts and crafts with Avery, and hanging out in our backyard with friends and family.

 

The pandemic was the perfect time for us to renovate our backyard and we spend as much time as possible out there. With ping pong, corn hole, a pool, swings for the kids, oversized Jenga and numerous outdoor lounging spots, we created our own private oasis and take advantage of it as often as we can.

 

Avery loves music and so we’re constantly coming up with new playlists and dancing around like fools.

 

Shawn is the family’s official grill master, a common love he shares with my dad, and together they can come up burgers, steak, ribs and brisket better than any restaurant in town.